Enforcement of Ohio’s distracted driving law begins today, October 5. It is illegal to use or hold a cell phone or electronic device in your hand or lap while driving on Ohio roads. If an officer sees a violation, you can be pulled over! Here are the penalties:
- 1st offense: Two points assessed to license, up to a $150 fine.
- 2nd offense: Three points assessed to license, up to a $250 fine.
- 3rd offense: Four points assessed to license, up to a $500 fine, possible 90-day suspension of driver license.
- Fines will be doubled if the violation occurs in a work zone.